Can I hide a part of the text by a "More..." link?
Any one heard of 192.comAgent?
Hello Guest
  
  • Login
• Register…
• Start blog
  • Who, Where, When
• What can I do?
• What to Read?
  • Polls
• Avatars
• Interests
  • Cities and Countries
• Random blog
• Users search
  • Search
• Games
• Tests
• QAIX
  • Сообщества
• Talxy Chat
• Horoscope
• Online
 
Зарегистрируйся!

QAIX > Search Engine Optimization > Any one heard of 192.comAgent? 16 June 2007 08:34:28

  Recent blog posts: 
  They have birthday today: 
  Forums:   
  Discuss: 
  Recent forum topics: 
  Recent forum comments:
  Moderators:

Any one heard of 192.comAgent?

Adrienne Boswell 16 June 2007 08:34:28
 I am seeing 192.comAgent in my logs, and have not found any information
on it. Anyone know what this thing does, if I should deny it?

TIA

--
Adrienne Boswell at home
Arbpen Design Services
http://www.cavalcad­e-of-coding.info
Please respond to the group so others can share

Add comment
Canadafred 22 June 2006 05:43:44 permanent link ]
 
Adrienne Boswell wrote:> I am seeing 192.comAgent in my logs, and have not found any information> on it. Anyone know what this thing does, if I should deny it?

I am seeing secret agents in my dreams. When I awake I don't seem to
recall the specifics. I'm starting to think there's something wrong
with me. I can't deny it. You shouldn't deny it, the agents that is, on
your server not in your <head>. What does this thing do???

--


"... the dream police are coming to arrest me ..."
Cheap Trick

Add comment
Adrienne Boswell 22 June 2006 08:30:38 permanent link ]
 Gazing into my crystal ball I observed "canadafred"
<canadian_web@hotma­il.com> writing in
news:1150940624.754­442.226260@y41g2000c­wy.googlegroups.com:­
Adrienne Boswell wrote:>> I am seeing 192.comAgent in my logs, and have not found any>> information on it. Anyone know what this thing does, if I should>> deny it? >
I am seeing secret agents in my dreams. When I awake I don't seem to> recall the specifics. I'm starting to think there's something wrong> with me. I can't deny it. You shouldn't deny it, the agents that is,> on your server not in your <head>. What does this thing do???>

That's just it. It doesn't seem to be doing much except requesting
pages. I just don't seem to have much confidence in something that does
not identify itself. Most bots have a url or email in their UA string
to identify themselves, this UA is only 192.comAgent.

--
Adrienne Boswell at Home
Arbpen Web Site Design Services
http://www.cavalcad­e-of-coding.info
Please respond to the group so others can share

Add comment
Borek 22 June 2006 12:45:30 permanent link ]
 On Thu, 22 Jun 2006 06:30:38 +0200, Adrienne Boswell <arbpen@yahoo.com>
wrote:
That's just it. It doesn't seem to be doing much except requesting> pages. I just don't seem to have much confidence in something that does> not identify itself. Most bots have a url or email in their UA string> to identify themselves, this UA is only 192.comAgent.

192.com?

Check logs for the domain or IP.

Best,
Borek
--
http://www.chembudd­y.com
http://www.ph-meter­.info/pH-measurement­s-indicators
http://www.terapia-­kregoslupa.waw.pl
Add comment
Canadafred 22 June 2006 15:04:20 permanent link ]
 
Adrienne Boswell wrote:> Gazing into my crystal ball I observed "canadafred"> <canadian_web@hotma­il.com> writing in> news:1150940624.754­442.226260@y41g2000c­wy.googlegroups.com:­>
Adrienne Boswell wrote:> >> I am seeing 192.comAgent in my logs, and have not found any> >> information on it. Anyone know what this thing does, if I should> >> deny it?> >
I am seeing secret agents in my dreams. When I awake I don't seem to> > recall the specifics. I'm starting to think there's something wrong> > with me. I can't deny it. You shouldn't deny it, the agents that is,> > on your server not in your <head>. What does this thing do???> >
That's just it. It doesn't seem to be doing much except requesting> pages. I just don't seem to have much confidence in something that does> not identify itself. Most bots have a url or email in their UA string> to identify themselves, this UA is only 192.comAgent.

Hey Adrienne

Sorry about my sarcasm last night when I wrote up a response to your
serious questions. I had just smoked a big quality fatty and was flying
around in my <head> a bit. Your concern for the agent is justified but
is beyond your control. Yes, you can block it, but you can be
perpetually blocking "Internet noise" if you want ( which will never
cease scouring web pages in search of whatever it is trying to harvest
).

As long as the agent isn't wasting too much of your bandwidth, costing
you money or making for a poor visit for your human traffic, I wouldn't
worry too much about it.

--


http://www.rezultz-­web-site-promotion.c­om/
search engine optimization ethics and basics

Add comment
Guest 23 June 2006 14:07:07 permanent link ]
 In article <Xns97E9DAD065D00ar­bpenyahoocom@69.28.1­86.121>,
arbpen@yahoo.com says...> Gazing into my crystal ball I observed "canadafred"> <canadian_web@hotma­il.com> writing in> news:1150940624.754­442.226260@y41g2000c­wy.googlegroups.com:­ >
Adrienne Boswell wrote:> >> I am seeing 192.comAgent in my logs, and have not found any> >> information on it. Anyone know what this thing does, if I should> >> deny it? > >
I am seeing secret agents in my dreams. When I awake I don't seem to> > recall the specifics. I'm starting to think there's something wrong> > with me. I can't deny it. You shouldn't deny it, the agents that is,> > on your server not in your <head>. What does this thing do???> >
That's just it. It doesn't seem to be doing much except requesting> pages. I just don't seem to have much confidence in something that does> not identify itself. Most bots have a url or email in their UA string> to identify themselves, this UA is only 192.comAgent.


The obvious idea is that it is from http://www.192.com Which
appears to be a UK-based search engine (did the IP come from the
UK?) And it seems to focus on finding contact information for
individual people and businesses.

Maybe try to search on yourself, to see if you are on it.


--
Earn Money With Your Web Site
http://www.WebSpons­orZone.Net
Web Site Advertising Directory
Add comment
Guest 16 June 2007 08:34:28 permanent link ]
 A year late but 192.com is a British online telephone/address directory much like yellow pages. Not much to worry about. I use it quite a lot to check out possible clients.
Add comment
 

Add new comment

As:
Login:  Password:  
 
 
  
 
Пожалуйста, относитесь к собеседникам уважительно, не используйте нецензурные слова, не злоупотребляйте заглавными буквами, не публикуйте рекламу и объявления о купле/продаже, а также материалы нарушающие сетевой этикет или УК РФ.


QAIX > Search Engine Optimization > Any one heard of 192.comAgent? 16 June 2007 08:34:28

see also:
RegEx for CRLF on line by itself
FTP script problem
reassign variable question
пройди тесты:
see also:
Low cost website promotion
How to rip DVD to other video formats…

  Copyright © 2001—2008 QAIX
Idea: Miсhael Monashev
Помощь и задать вопросы можно в сообществе support.qaix.com.
Сообщения об ошибках оставляем в сообществе bugs.qaix.com.
Предложения и комментарии пишем в сообществе suggest.qaix.com.
Информация для родителей.
Write us at:
If you would like to report an abuse of our service, such as a spam message, please .